The world could end anytime

If we are to follow the Mayan calendar, the world will end in less than a month (on December 21 to be specific). And while I don’t subscribe to that belief, I know the world can end anytime. Actually, it’s more of my life can end anytime. It’s not about being fatalistic or anything. It’s more of stating the truth. I could step out of this office and get hit by a car or something. It’s possible.

Anyway, I’m filled with such morose thoughts because I just finished watching Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World starring Steve Carell and Keira Knightley.

Premise is that an asteroid was bound for earth and after x number of days, the world really was going to end. Steve’s character Dodge meets his quirky young neighbor Penny (played by Keira) after Dodge found her crying on the fire escape in their apartment building. The unlikely pair found themselves on a quest to look for Dodge’s first love. Without giving too much away, Penny suddenly turns into the welcome detour in Dodge’s journey.

What really struck me about the movie was more the circumstances surrounding their relationship instead of their relationship itself. I found myself thinking, “What would I do if the world was to end in a month/couple of weeks?”

In the film, you spot the anarchists, the people going about their business (e.g. going to work, doing household chores, etc.), the people going wild (e.g. partying, doing drugs, letting their kids drink alcohol, etc.), those getting ready for life after the apocalypse, those offing themselves before the apocalypse (or hiring someone to kill them before it came), and those cherishing time left with their loved ones.

Party scene at Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World

Beach scene of Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World

In these two scenes, you spot the difference between Dodge’s life before and after Penny. The “fun” and/or chaos of his friend’s party and this nice, calm gathering at the beach.

I was particularly drawn to his Mexican/Hispanic housekeeper Elsa played by Tonita Castro (Fausta from Go On!) who still consistently showed up to clean his home every Thursday. It’s like she couldn’t/didn’t grasp the concept of quitting work because the world was ending.

Elsa and Dodge on Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World

Personally, if I find myself in that situation. I’d want to say I’d go do the things I’ve always wanted to do. I’m not quite sure I’d admit to things I should be admitting to though—but a part of me would want to, of course.

I’m curious what you guys would do if you find yourself facing the end of the world. Do share your thoughts with me.

Leave a Reply

