Ready for a new adventure

image

Approximately one month ago, I filed my resignation from the first paying job I’ve had in my life. To do what, you ask? To follow my writing dreams. I thought it was time I lived what I believe in my heart to be what I was put on this earth to do.

I felt at the beginning of this that I might be taking too big of a risk but then I realized that if I don’t do what I want to do, I’d forever be stuck at this level and stunt my growth. Venturing into the unknown scares me but I think the rewards will outweigh any obstacle I may encounter.

Right now I feel like I’m bringing the Wanderrgirl blogging challenge to life with this change. Perhaps that was the prompt I needed to move my life in this direction.

I am so happy that I got the support I needed from those people who matter to me the most when I told them I wanted to quit my job to commit my time to writing. I probably would not have pushed through with this without them. You know who you guys are. I thank you from the bottom of my heart!

By the way, you can read the rest of that column in the photo above by grabbing a copy of Speed‘s 10th anniversary issue this May. It was both a harrowing and amazing experience putting that issue together. I’d like to think that it makes for a great legacy. I am honored to have been part of the team that made this milestone issue possible.

What I am equally excited about is that I will be able to share the future adventures I’d find myself in. I have no excuse not to update more frequently now that I am in charge of my time.

5 responses to “Ready for a new adventure

  1. Pingback: Have the courage to chase your dreams | wanderinggeekette·

    • Thank you, Jonette! I read your latest entry, too. I see you taking steps towards your dreams, too. Right now I’m still lost and trying to figure things out but I’m just taking it a step at a time.

  2. Nicoleyyyyy! I’m so aliw and proud (parang nanay daw ang peg? haha) that you’re doing something like that. Nail-biting! But absolutely awesome! Ahhhhhh! Wala lang. I just. AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

