Top 10 Tunes For August 2013

This is going to be two days early because I won’t be near any computer in the next few days because I will be in Hong Kong to a) catch The xx in concert (which I am sooooo excited about!) b) take a quick vacation/pre-birthday trip for me and my good friend Meg (who is celebrating her birthday tomorrow!).

Much like last month’s post, here is another mix of new and old stuff I’ve given particular attention to for my favorite month of the year.

Andrew McMahon – Synesthesia
It took me a bit of time to get over the disbanding of Jack’s Mannequin that I refused to touch anything new from Andrew. And boy was that a mistake. Here he is still making amazing songs and Synesthesia is representative of what he has to offer. The soul is still there. It’s still beautiful.

Sara Bareilles – Manhattan
Sara Bareilles has the ability to uplift you and break you into pieces in the span of an album. She starts Blessed Unrest with the powerful anthem we know as Brave and you find this beauty of a song three tracks down. Reminds me a bit of Bright Lights And Cityscapes and Between The Lines, among her other beautifully sad ballads. This is supposedly told from the perspective of her ex-boyfriend and how they parted ways when she decided to move to New York and he wanted to stay in LA. I do not know the veracity of that anecdote though.

Imagine Dragons – On Top Of The World
Yes, I know this is an old song but my family and I recently got into this show Partners and this is the opening theme for the comedy show. When I hear this, it puts me in a good mood.

Alt-J – Tessellate
Their music shows up a lot when I use 8tracks but I haven’t really given their sound that much thought. Tessellate pulled me in though. It’s very sensual to say the least and perfect for a cool, steady night alone or perhaps with someone “special.”

Bombay Bicycle Club – Cancel On Me
Another semi-oldie (2009 to be exact) would be this song. I’ve just started listening to their I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Loose album and this track stood out for me. Hearing it makes me want to go on a road trip.

Ellie Goulding – Burn
I don’t know why I’ve ignored Ellie Goulding all this time when her version of Be Mine with Erik Hassle is my life jam. I know it’s Robyn’s song but… anyway, I digress. Here’s a new track from Ellie and it doesn’t seem to veer off her usual sound but has that hook for a chorus and easily makes me want to dance. I love the tone of her voice. It’s unique and you’d pick her out of a crowd easily.

The Weeknd – Belong To The World
I read a comment online that Abel Tesfaye or The Weeknd is reminiscent of Michael Jackson and if you listen carefully, you can hear why. The lyrics to this song are so dark but he combines it with an unforgettable beat. I’m hooked. I need to hear more from him.

Techy Romantics – Electricity
Someone who uses the line “I want you to silence the dissonance in my heart” will always have my heart. I’m such a fan of Touch but I haven’t listened as much to their newer stuff (which is my fault really). Anyway, Electricity is the perfect getting to know you song. As some of its lyrics’ suggest, it does calm me down.

The Virgins – Rich Girls
Another old song that gives off this groovy disco feel. This might be a strange thing to claim but it makes me want to dance on tabletops for some reason. And the group’s sound gives off this Brit Pop-Rock vibe for me even if they are an American band. Bonus fact that you probably saw if you watched the video: Behati Prinsloo (soon-to-be Mrs. Adam Levine) is in this song’s music video.

The xx – Teardrops
I know this was originally a Womack & Womack song but I first heard this on Joss Stone’s The Soul Sessions Vol. 2 and I didn’t even know that The xx did a version of this song earlier than Joss Stone did. I was completely blown away by how different it sounds. It certainly has that xx sound I’ve just gotten so addicted to over the past year.

I’ve put together another mix on 8tracks for you to enjoy. What music have you been listening to a lot lately?

2 responses to “Top 10 Tunes For August 2013

  1. Andrew McMahon’s voice is so distinct that even if his new sound is different from Something Corporate and Jack’s Mannequin it’s still clear that it’s him. The rest of the list is also great — I particularly love the ones from The XX and Techy Romantics. 🙂

Leave a Reply

