Talkin’ Tech: You can finally find your ‘Droid

Hello! New weekly section yet again and this time tackling something I’ve learned to love over the course of time because of my line of work: the wonderful world of consumer technology. I’m bombarded with tech news on a daily basis (good for the business admittedly) and some of them jump at me and excite me at the possibilities. I want to talk about those exciting tech developments that matter to me.

I will say upfront that I am an Android user and spend a tremendous amount of time using my Samsung Galaxy Nexus and trusty old 8.9-inch Galaxy Tab P7300 so you will be reading a lot of Google/Android-related news.

Like this first bit I have for you this week about Google’s “Find my iPhone”-esque feature that was released a couple of weeks ago called the Android Device Manager. It can track your misplaced/stolen phone, ring it even if your phone’s on silent, and remotely wipe the data. I tried it on my Galaxy Nexus and it works if you have Wi-Fi and GPS on. I know there are third-party apps that do that but I like having native apps to work with.

Talkin' Tech - Find your 'droid

You can use this page to find, call, and wipe your device but you have to make sure you activate it on your phone through Google Settings on your phone.

Talkin' Tech - Find your 'droid - Google Settings 1

Select the Android Device Manager option and activate the options you want to activate. Again, remember you have to Wi-Fi and GPS on to track your Android smartphone.

Talkin' Tech - Find your 'droid - Google Settings 2

Talkin' Tech - Find your 'droid - Google Settings 3

One response to “Talkin’ Tech: You can finally find your ‘Droid

  1. Pingback: Talkin’ Tech: You can finally find your ‘Droid·

Leave a Reply

