Top 10 Tunes for September 2013

It’s that time of the month again. Here’s another round of Top Tunes for the month of September. Can’t believe we’ve entered the ninth month of the year yet again. Anyway, I have another eclectic mix of random discoveries that I hope you guys like.

Jamie xx – Far Nearer
Excuse me because I still have a The xx concert hangover and I don’t think it’s disappearing any time soon. And that is why Jamie’s remix of Far Nearer is on this month’s list. Plus, Far Nearer always makes me feel like lounging by the pool or sunbathing on the beach and that’s a good thing to think about and feel any time of the year.

Twin Forks – Cross My Mind
This song feels like it belongs in a Coke commercial or something. It’s so feel good. And yes, I really would follow Chris Carrabba to the ends of the earth with whatever he’s doing, much like a loyal stalker fangirl. Haha I am excited for this band’s EP coming out this Sept. 17

Krewella – Killin’ It
I find so much power in the line: I’m a predator, rapture, I’m killin’ it.. This is definitely a morning anthem, get up and face the world kind of song. I heard of Krewella before but haven’t really checked out any of their stuff. I know just stalk their Sound Cloud account.

Jamie Campbell Bower – Waiting
I am now obsessed with The Mortal Instruments books and movie (which I will talk about another time) and the Jace Wayland fangirl in me had me digging for Jamie Campbell Bower stuff. I did not know that man-boy, as I’d like to call him, actually sings and this was the first song of his I discovered and instantly fell in love with him it. When I need that extra boost, I listen to this song and it makes me feel better.

Mø – Waste Of Time (FTSE Remix)
I’m not sure how to pronounce her stage name (Mo?) but she makes real good stuff. This remix is perfect for those quiet nights in. Pilgrim is another track to check out.

Sam Tsui – Bring Me The Night (feat. Kina Grannis)
I’m a pretty big Kinerd (a.k.a. Kina Grannis fan) so I always keep my eye out for her stuff and her collaborations. This is yet another feel good track with a simple but pretty music video. I haven’t really heard of Sam Tsui before but I got his album Make It Up and I have to recommend Shadow.

Matt Corby – Brother
Soundtrack of the Youth is one of my favorite music blogs and I pick up tons of stuff to listen to. Matt Corby is one such artist I gave a shot after I saw this post. I’ve heard of his name before but I didn’t bother to look him up. I have been missing out on one of the most powerful voices I’ve heard. He’s the kind of musician I’d listen to if I was feeling folksy. Not sure if that makes sense but anyway, he represents that solo folk singer genre well. This is a reminder that I need to listen to more of his stuff.

Arctic Monkeys – Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?
I know I’m not the only one looking forward to the September 9 release of AM and this new song they released a few weeks ago whetted my appetite even more for the new album. Trippy and slightly twisted video aside, Alex Turner and the group have yet to disappoint me. And there really is something so sexy about their new sound. It just makes me tingly all over. YouTube video below is NSFW, by the way.

Dillon Francis – Without You (feat. Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs)
Can I first say that Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs is the best stage name for a DJ or any musical act ever? This song has a dreamy air about it and feels like something that should be listened to with headphones on to just get lost in the beat.

Low Leaf – Smthing Abt You
There is something very ethereal and soulful about her. I’m guessing the harp helps but really she is a gem. If you’re looking for something that sounds otherworldly, Low Leaf’s music is definitely it.

You know the drill. I have an 8tracks mix for this. I’d love to hear what you all are listening to lately. Drop a quick comment below.

3 responses to “Top 10 Tunes for September 2013

Leave a Reply

