Top 10 tunes for October 2013

I’m here to present to you another round of great music. Well, at least stuff I consider great music. I recently started a new day job so that distracted me from compiling this on time but it’s here now and I hope you enjoy it. It’s again a mix of old and new. I assume you know the drill by this point. I won’t keep you with a long, winded intro. Let’s just head straight into the tunes.

HAIM – Let Me Go
HAIM just came out with their first full-length album Days Are Gone at the end of September and guess who pre-ordered her copy? I have most of the songs of the album but like this album version of Let Me Go, I know I’ll be in for a treat with the new album. This was the song they teased us with when I got the album on iTunes and have been listening to it obsessively. Well, this and The Wire have been on heavy rotation.

The Weeknd – Live For (feat. Drake)
I know I should add new acts to this monthly post but I have to make room for goodies like this. The Weeknd also released his album Kiss Land last month and this beautiful yet aggressive track is on said album.

Lorde – Royals
I must be living under a rock because I discovered my new favorite teenage sensation, Lorde, fairly recently. She is amazing. I appreciate amazing talent when I see it and this girl is it. Her album just came out and it’s a great, solid debut.

Jetta – Start A Riot
This song is a reminder of why I love movie soundtracks. You discover some pretty cool stuff on them. I found this gem of a track on The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones soundtrack. NME has even gone to say: It’s a little bit The xx, a little bit Florence and a little bit heavy metal. And if that doesn’t intrigue you, we don’t know what will. I hope she comes up with more stuff. I’d love to hear more from her. Also, check out Jessie J’s Magnetic

Ellie Goulding – How Long Will I Love You
This track from the movie About Time is such a lovely track. It puts a smile on my face every time I play it.

TOKiMONSTA – Garlic Hearts
TOKiMONSTA released this cool Half Shadows outtake that’s just perfect for a nice, relaxing afternoon.

Graffiti6 – Stare Into The Sun
An oldie but a goodie. I’ve been missing summer and being on the beach so this Graffiti6 song is a perfect reminder of why I love the season and I eagerly await its return.

Balance and the Traveling Sounds – Cold Outside
In relation to the earlier entry, this song seems to be appropriate for the coming season. Just the perfect tune to listen to on a cold day/evening while bundled up under the covers with a cup of tea and a nice book or cuddling with a significant other. Yes, I have a whole scenario for this song in my head.

Sohn – The Wheel
Another old but great song that reminds me a bit of Florence Welch with a more electronic feel. The Wheel is definitely one of those tracks I’d love to lounge around to.

Birdy – All You Never Say
Her haunting, melodic voice is one of my current favorites and I can’t believe Lorde and her are roughly the same age. Such talent at 16/17! It’s good to have a new album for her. I will admit I haven’t given it a listen yet but this track is incentive enough to check it out.

As usual I have an 8tracks playlist for the month, so do check it out if you want to.

Leave a Reply

