Top tunes for November/December 2013

As much as I’d want to do a monthly Top 10 Tunes update, real life has once again caught up with me and it’s forcing me to do this as a bi-monthly thing. However, I want to do it now without the limitation of 10 songs and I will probably release it around this time of the month. I expect to make longer playlists and stuff from this point.

Joshua Radin – You Got Growin’ Up To Do


I’ve compiled Joshua Radin’s entire discography lately and one of my favorites has to be this track. I find his voice to be quite soothing even if the song is quite hear. He’s such an incredible talent.

Chvrches – Gun


The first song I heard from them was actually a cover of Haim’s Falling. But I wasn’t sold to their sound at first. I think it was better for me to hear them sing/perform their own songs. Gun is just catchy and quite vindictive that is juxtaposed by Lauren Mayberry’s innocent and sweet sounding vocals. Definitely checking out more of their stuff.

Sam Smith – Latch


There is something so romantic about this acoustic version of Disclosure‘s Latch that I never tire of listening to it. The song is absolutely stunning and sweet.

Up Dharma Down – Thinker


Here’s a semi-old Up Dharma Down track that I’ve grown to love as I listened to it more and more. Plus, it’s reflecting a huge chunk of my current mindset so it seemed apt to be included in this list.

Kristen Bell, Agatha LeeMonn and Katie Lopez – Do You Want To Build A Snowman?


I saw Frozen and completely fell in love with it. Out of the recent Disney princess movies, this one is my favorite. It has a great soundtrack, too. (How can you not love In Summer?) And the song that tugged at my heart-strings the most was this track. It always makes me feel like I want to cry by the end of it. The movie is such a beautiful tale about having siblings. I like that message and the little twists they threw in. Some more predictable than others but definitely enjoyable. The songs are so witty and infectious. I love this a lot.

James Wolpert – A Case Of You


If you’ve followed me on the other social media platforms (like Twitter or Tumblr) you would find me incessantly talking about this guy from The Voice. I have so much love for James Wolpert and his talent. Out of everything he has sung on the show so far, his take on Joni Mitchell’s A Case Of You is the one the hit closest to home. His take on it was just as emotional and beautiful as Joni’s version. I hope to hear tons of great things from him in the future.

Will Champlin – Secrets


Here’s another The Voice favorite and another Team Adam a.k.a. Team Sexy member. Will Champlin is such an effortless, cool and passionate singer. I loved his take on OneRepublic’s Secrets.

A Great Big World – Say Something


I love this song so much that I pre-ordered the album without even knowing any of the other songs from this duo. That’s actually I huge thing for me and I believe A Great Big World deserves to step into the spotlight in the coming months. The version above with Christina Aguilera is just as precious as the original one.

Until The Ribbon Breaks – Romeo


There is something about Pete Lawrie Winfield a.k.a. Until The Ribbon Breaks that reminds me of The Weeknd. He has that chill R&B sound one can just get lost in all day. The A Taste of Silver EP is one gem of a single that makes me crave for more of his sound.

Sia – Elastic Heart (feat. The Weeknd & Diplo)


This is going to be a two-part The Hunger Games: Catching Fire song spazz. It is one of the best soundtrack albums I’ve heard in a while and I couldn’t just stick with one song as I love this Sia track as well as the one below this. Elastic Heart just makes me want to get up and dance.

Christina Aguilera – We Remain


I was such an avid Christina Aguilera fan when I was a kid but after her Stripped album I kind of fell off the fan bandwagon. This song is a reminder though of why I love her and it makes me want to take a look at what she has done recently. The song fits the movie so well and somehow gives me goosebumps every time I listen to it.

As usual, here’s the link to the 8tracks playlist. I hope you all are enjoying the holiday season a lot and not panicking over minute details. Remember to spend it with your loved ones!

Leave a Reply

