Tales from the book sale bin: Postcards From No Man’s Land

Welcome to Tales From The Book Sale Bin a.k.a. my excuse to buy more bargain books (not that I really need an excuse). My book shopping is rather similar to my clothes shopping style. I am willing to spend for good quality stuff or those that I really love but I am also not afraid to go after a bargain. This is the new section of the blog that talks about those spontaneous and (mostly) cheap purchases I’ve made. I’ll probably revisit some old purchases I’ve made for future posts as an excuse to reread them. I hope you guys enjoy this new section on my blog. (And yes, I know I have tons of other sections I need to update pronto.) Moving on to the first book…

Tales from the book sale bin - Postcards From No Man's Land

I haven’t heard Aidan Chambers’s name before buying Postcards From No Man’s Land. So, of course I didn’t know this is part of a six-book series. I don’t really like buying books if they’re part of a series and I didn’t start from book one (which reminds me a bit of Hank Green’s book rants) but since I just spent P50 (roughly US$1.11) on this I knew I wasn’t really going to regret it. Or if I did, it really didn’t cost me too much. Safe to say, I got my money’s worth and more from Postcards.

The story follows English teenager Jacob Todd’s trip to Amsterdam to visit his grandfather’s grave during the 50-year commemoration of the Battle of Arnhem. His grandfather, who Jacob was named after, died during the Second World War. It also recounts the tale of Geertrui’s relationship with Jacob’s grandfather during the war. And Postcards shows just how connected their lives really are.

I found myself sucked into Jacob’s and Geertrui’s worlds. I’ve always been fascinated with Amsterdam and Anne Frank’s story so having that tied into this narrative was an extra treat for me.

It tackles how relationships have evolved throughout the years. It also handles sexual identity and its issues/concerns quite maturely. And it even takes on euthanasia and discusses whether you should or shouldn’t tell someone the truth because you know it will hurt them.

Postcards From No Man’s Land is a smart, thoughtful young adult book. Although, I am testament that you don’t have to be a teenager to enjoy this one. I mostly like how it doesn’t even try to wrap up the story with a “happy ending” but would rather have readers reflect on its open-endedness and how it closely resembles the way we live our lives.

Leave a Reply

