Top Tunes for July/August 2014

The past two months have been a blur of activity that this got pushed to the side. I wouldn’t want to not release though especially because I think I have a good mix of stuff to share. I won’t keep you with a long-winded intro. I hope you enjoy this round of Top Tunes.

A-Trak – Ray Ban Vision (feat. Cyhi Da Prynce)

There are certain days when I want to feel like I have swag or I just want to feel like I can pull off a certain attitude. This is an example of what I’d like to listen to on days like that.

Jurassic 5 – Improvise

My first exposure to Jurassic 5 was Charli 2na’s interview on Aisha Tyler’s Girl on Guy podcast (which is an interesting interview, by the way). I promised to look them up sometime and here’s my attempt to give their music a try. And here’s my attempt to give their sound a listen. I have to say I’m loving this throwback of sorts to how hip-hop used to sound. I want to hear more of this today I will admit. The world needs more of this kind of swag.

Beyonce – Flawless (feat. Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche)

This is the song I start my days with now and it puts me in that “girls run the world” mood. It’s just good to have something out there that makes you feel empowered about being your gender/who you are.

Cat Power – Ruin

There is something very relaxing about this song. It feels kind of whimsical that Charlyn Marie Marshall decided to go with the stage name Cat Power. I feel like this is the type of song to go with sipping a fruity drink by the pool.

Ed Sheeran – Stay With Me

I am on an Ed Sheeran bender. Yes, this is a bi-monthly post but I’ve listened to Ed on and off for the past two months. ‘X’ (or Multiply) just gets better and better the more I listen to it. “Sing” got polarizing reviews from when it came out. I came from the opinion that the change is good for him and for us fans. We really can’t expect an artist’s sound to stay the same forever. But I digress. Here’s Ed Sheeran’s cover of Sam Smith’s beautiful song. I’m just as addicted to this as the original song.

ONE OK ROCK – Mighty Long Fall

I have held off listening to this for some reason but it is so good to hear new stuff from ONE OK ROCK. God, I love these boys. I see how their time abroad is affecting their music. I like it. I still think they can do no wrong. And this just adds so much to the ‘Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno’ movie (or I’m just speaking like a total fangirl of the band and the movie).

Jhené Aiko & Cocaine 80s – To Love & Die

That bass at the beginning already got to me. So smooth and silky just like most of the tracks she puts out. This girl just has that “it factor” and with her album coming out soon, I can’t wait for the rest of the world to hear more about her.

Hozier – Take Me To Church

There is something so calming about Andrew Hozier-Byrne a.k.a. Hozier’s voice. Imagine spending a quiet Sunday night listening to him serenade you through your speakers. I’m getting that Citizen Cope vibe from him. But it’s like he has more of a crooner in him.

Wildchild – Renegade Master

In relation with the Disclosure spazz, Guy and Howard Lawrence (a.k.a. Disclosure) sampled this song midway through their set and I felt instantly thrown back to my teenage years. I think I was the only one freaking out over the song—mostly because I was surrounded by youngins. I always thought this was a Fatboy Slim song. Just goes to show you can learn new things about old stuff any time. So, here is a little throwback for you all (whether you read this on a Thursday or not).

Caro Emerald – Liquid Lunch

There is just something so truthful about this song particularly for a woman in her 20s that I can’t help but fall in love with it. Plus, it has that upbeat sound that just makes you want to dance.

Alanis Morissette – Empathy

Alanis will always be the woman after my angst-filled teenage heart. I forgot I had this album of hers in my files. This just has that feel good vibe in the way that “Hands in my Pocket” and “Head Over Feet” were.

Sampha – Happens

Sampha Sisay, or Sampha for short, has that smooth, smooth voice you just can’t help but pay attention to. He is that cross between Sam Smith and The Weeknd when it comes to his sound. And I just recently realized that Drake sampled “Too Much” on his track… “Too Much.” That should’ve tipped me off. Sampha’s sound is addictively gorgeous though. I particularly love his collaborations with SBTRKT.

SBTRKT – New Dorp. New York (feat. Ezra Koenig)

Speaking of SBTRKT, he has great collabs. This newest one with Ezra Koenig is a gem. It’s like the cool kid you want to be friends with. However, does anyone know what dorp menas? Please enlighten me.

Jamie XX – All Under One Roof Raving

As you can tell I’m heavy on electronic music these days and I have this guy right here to thank/blame for that. I like how Jamie has this distinct sound that will make you go: “Oh yes, this is a Jamie XX record.” Plus, him releasing stuff is tiding me over while the next The xx record isn’t out yet.

Shlohmo & Jeremih – No More

There is just something sexy about this track. It’s like the extra “h” in their names just amp it up. I’m kidding but what is serious is that this is a great date night song, if you ask me.

FKA Twigs – Lights On

Speaking of sexy (another theme I have running this month), here’s one from the ladies. FKA Twigs or Tahliah Barnett just came out with her new record and this track immediately grabbed my attention. It is just very sensual and it made me want to listen to more of what she has to offer.

What do you think about this offering? As usual, we have the Spotify playlist. Although, I couldn’t get all songs on there this time.

Leave a comment